Year 2016 in Flashback


l

The year 2016 is gone for good.

I felt a bit emotional over its forever farewell. But if the truth to be told, the past year was full of difficulty for me. I got an employment in a company that was insensitively callous toward employees.

Worse, it proved to be a blot on my financial situation, literally brought me on the brink of starvation, for the employer refused to pay remuneration on the set date.

But after one year I don’t feel like cursing the employer, for what happened with me was the result of what I tend to believe now, was the career mistake, something that is the order of the day with most of the individuals these days.

I joined another company. I felt over the moon for a few days as the job required me to utilize my skill in the genre I had no previous experience of. But very soon once the bloated enthusiasm of mine was brought to its (impending) deflation.

I had to leave the job due to severity of mental annoyance, especially the experience felt as if I was sentenced to an eternal confinement of something that makes escapade seems impossible.

Took sigh of relief when I tendered my willful resignation.

The exit from the last employer ensued an outcome of something I never ever imagined in my life. I remained unemployed for, say nearly 3 months! Yes, I was jobless for the three months.

Reason? I do not know what was the real reason, but I guess I was not mentally prepared to be in a job at all.

As a result, I halfheartedly attended some interviews. While some turned down my candidature, I turned down some of the job offers. No it was not retaliatory kind of externalizing my frustration. I sort of didn’t like my credibility as a writer being questioned and that my salary to be judged by pedantic interviewers, who said my being jobless can’t qualify me to demand the salary as per my expectation.

Then I realized – when you are down in life, or out of luck/job, guys in wolf-skin take the helm of being the judge of your character, or better say – the cultivator of your future.

So, I remained jobless for 3 months. The mental stress, with each passing days at home, was getting close to what I tend to term now as ‘excruciating’. I was actually turning myself into a kind of freak. Sometimes I felt I was getting paranoid due to overwhelming frustration that I was acquiring day by day sitting at home, doing nothing.

I know I was not good enough how to track jobs, as most of the time I expected recruiters call me, for that was the only thing I thought I could prove my worth to the prospective employers.

Then I went to my hometown. My parent forced me to come down there. They wanted me to attend certain worships. Most importantly, Durga Puja was round the corner. This festival is celebrated at my hometown quite fervently.

It had been four years since I attended the festival. Therefore, I could not refuse their persistent demands to come to hometown. Moreover, I was not making any headway either in terms of finding a new employment.

At hometown I did enjoy the festival. However, certain things happened that I had never imagined in my wildest dreams. Hate to say that I can’t disclose them here, but I swear I went through the avalanche of vilification.

My fault? I was jobless.

I became eyesore to some (not my family) who thought of me as an indolent fellow rejecting jobs as if I was scared of them. I tried to make them understand but eventually kept mum, believing when you’re out of money, you’re dirt-bag, for others.

I was not hurt that people made a fun of my unemployment. I was bruised deeply by the mockery of those I held close to my heart.

My worship was cancelled as my family was short on money necessary to perform the worships.

In the meantime, I made a habit of worshiping deity, Durga. I read DurgaShaptshati every day, even though Durga Puja was over. As far as I can remember now, I may have missed worshiping her on one or two times.

After living more than a month of humiliation at my hometown, I came back to Delhi, hoping to find out a new job.

I got a new one.

I cant talk much about the new job. I have started doing it recently. But I am sure of the fact that this is incredible, much to what I wanted always. To be in the position where you are supposed to build future of your peers by helping them fare well in their forte is something I wanted to have in my job.

Back to old year 2016.

The conclusion is – the past year was full of unpleasant events for me. May be I was running out of divine luck or possibly my inability not to read between the lines, or may be I was too stubborn not to subjugate myself to the gloating of others, or probably I actually did not want to be in job at all.

However, the past year taught me a very, very, and extremely very important lesson about living a life without money. It taught me how to be seriously responsible in life and not to take things badly on impulse.

I tend to believe that the past year has been quite an edifying experience, rather than telling it that it was unsavory to an extent.

The past year was like a guru to me, which helped me come in terms with the wisdom, that when things are to happen, they manifest anyway. You have no control at all on certain things fated to appear in your life, in any form.

I may sound like a fatalist, but the kind of experience I went through in the last year I tend to believe that there is indeed something called destiny and there is God somewhere looking after us in some other ways.

All the best to the year gone by. All new hopes and expectations for the year 2017.

HAPPY NEW YEAR, READERS!

Leave a Reply

