Kane And Abel – An Intelligent Thriller Novel


kane and kabel novelToday I have finished reading Jeffrey Archer’s world famous novel – KANE AND ABEL and I must confess this one has been the most gripping book that I’ve read attentively.

Also, this is my first review of any book. Previously I read another book – THE LONG SHOT by Stephen Leather and was irresistibly drawn to it; finished reading it by virtually abdicating most of the things like eating foods on time, reading, and the internet kind of things among other activities that I loved doing or was supposed to do.

Kane And Abel is not simply a novel based on the personal vendetta of two of its leading characters – William Lowell Kane and Abel Rosnovski (Polish migrant to USA) – though the book itself survives on these two leading character’s overtly obsessed hatred for each other.

When I started to read the book, the first few paragraph of the first chapter of the novel held my attention, made me fixated to keep on reading further. Quite literally, I sort of made myself bound to an unwittingly vowed volition of not to leave the book until I am done with reading 🙂

Well, here I am, the man who has finished reading the book, but instead of chucking or tossing it aside, I have actually shelved it in my book shelf next to THE LONG SHOT.

Well, if you think that my bookshelf has just two novels so far, then let me tell you honestly that even though I am sort of bibliophile, I am more like collecting the books rather than reading them. Yes, I am very selective readers; regardless of my intractable obsession with collecting books just like a philatelist.

WHAT I HAVE READ

What I am smitten with the book is the writer’s unfathomable imagination of weaving story for each and every character, particularly those of Kane and Abel’s have been thoroughly impressive, and it is no wonder why the titular novel on both the characters has been the centralized theme of the book.

Otherwise, there is no entertainment at all if either of the characters at cross purpose is shown dead in the middle of the novel. Though it happened, but understandably at the end of the book.

One more thing, the deep-seated hatred of both the characters and the way such revulsion has been demonstrated is what makes the book a must-read. By the time you feel leaving the book for another time, there suddenly pops up certain twist of the event that you feel glued to the book, magically.

While I admire hate-consumed Kane and Abel, I, however, fail to understand if the novelist Jeffrey really meant no meeting of Kane and Abel at all as a friend absolved of their mutual dislike. In the climax, the two key characters; frail and worn out of their old age, come across to each other, half-heartedly acknowledging their presence and then parted their way. It was as if a moment of conversation would melt away their years-long hatred that they kept on feeding in their hearts without anticipating gross consequence of such besotted revulsion.

It was as if they feared that a moment of conversation would melt away their years-long hatred that they kept on feeding in their hearts without anticipating gross consequence of such besotted revulsion.

It was nearly a tearful moment mixed with the curse for Abel when he happens to read a letter sent by a banker friend, revealing to him of the unacknowledged generosity of the deceased Kane who helped Abel by being a nameless contributor of funds for his new venture at his financial juncture.

I liked the characteristic traits of William Kane right from the beginning of the novel and sort of enjoyed his triumph over the board of members at Lester Bank facilitating his ascension to the chairmanship of the bank. However, I must confess that the struggle of Kane can never outweigh or prevail over compared to what hardship and destitution amidst the insufferable pains and struggle to limelight Abel has been through.

In fact, he has earned himself, throughout the novel, a deserving laurel from readers like me and I have no hesitation to say, if it were not the revenge-struck battle of both the characters, the novel would have lost the sheen of what it enjoys from the readers.

Conclusively, Kane and Abel is a tightly plotted, highly gripping novel.

One more thing – You will love this book more if you are profoundly familiar with the stock market and how the prices of shares fluctuate by their ancillary factors. This is because both the key characters in the novel leaves no stone unturned to topple down and humiliate each other by using in place their commendable wits.

Though Abel finally emerges as the winner of this chess-like game of personal vendetta by ceasing the fate of Kane boy into an inescapable checkmate (Kane’s ouster from Lester Bank much before the maturity of his tenure), he still ends up being a loser; at the end morally supported by his foe’s son (in law), his own daughter and infant grandson. THE END.

Leave a Reply

